Lama Temple is located in the center of Beijing, was originally built for Count Yin Zhen who resided here untill 1723 when he moved to Forbidden City to become emperor of Qing Dynasty. His son, emperor Qianlong converted this site into a Buddist lamasery of the Yellow Hat sect, which mainly associated with Tibet.
Today, Lama Temple is an island of Buddism in the very heart of Beijing. Monks in wine-colored robes live, study and pray in its gardens and halls.The buildings are a hybird of Mongolian, Tibetan and Han architectural styles. During Spring Festival, Buddists throng its altars to burn bushels of insence and pray for good fortune.
Hall of Heavenly Kings
The first hall of Lama Temple has a full chuckling Buddha, Milefo, consecutive with Wei Tuo, the Watchman of Buddhist Doctrine. They are flanked by the Four Heavenly Kings who administer over the earth, one for every purpose of the compass. They hold the images of their awesome force, an umbrella, a sword, a pipa (a chinese music instrument) and a water snake.
Hall of Eternal Harmony
The second hall of the temple contains three appearances of Buddha, speaking to past (on the west side, Kasyapa-matanga), present (in the center, Sakyamuni), and future (on the east side, Maitreya). They are flanked by 18 luohan (arhats, Buddha followers)-those liberated from the cycle of resurrection.
Hall of Eternal Protection
The third hall was Emperor Yongzheng's living quarters as a ruler and the spot where his pine box was set after his passing. Today, a statue of the Bhaisajya-master (Medicine Buddha) remains in this corridor. Behind the corridor is a bronze figure of Mount Meru, the core of the Buddhist universe.
Hall of the Wheel of Law
From Yongyoudian proceed with north to the fourth corridor, Falundian, which is the area for Lamas perusing scriptures and holding Buddhist services, has a 20-foot (6-m) high stature of Tsongkhapa (1357-1419), the fourteenth century author of the Yellow Hat (Geluk) organization of Tibetan Buddhism, which is presently the predominant school of Tibetan Buddhism. Behind this statue is a Five-Hundred-Arhat-Hill, a cutting make of red sandalwood with statues of the arhats produced using five separate metals (gold, silver, copper, iron, and tin). These Arhats have been formed in distinctive postures. Before this Hill is a wooden bowl which was said to have been utilized for washing the group of Emperor Qianlong three days after his introduction to the world. Rich extensive frescos delineate the life of Sakyamuni extend around both the east and west wall.
Hall of Ten Thousand Happinesses
The last hall houses the sanctuary's prize ownership, a Tibeatan-style statue of Maitreya (the future Buddha), 18m (60 ft.) tall, cut from a solitary bit of white sandalwook. The statue is really constructed 8m (26ft) into the ground to keep it from toppling over. The statue was incorporated in the Guinness Book of Records in 1990. The impressive show of Tibetan Buddhist objects at the sanctuary's genuine incorporates statues of the gods Padmasambhava (Guru Rinpoche), and what might as well be called Guanyin, Chenresig, nearby custom questions, for example, the sceptrelike dorje(thunderbolt) and dril bu(bell), images of the male and female energies.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 25|
|Opening Hours:||9:00 to 16:30 (Apr. 1 to Oct. 31)
9:00 to 16:00 (Nov. 1 to Mar. 31)
|Recommended Time for a Visit:||1.5 hours|
|Subway:||Subway Line 2: get off at Yonghegong Station, get out of the station from Exit C (Southwest Exit), and walk south about 400 meters, then you'll find it on the east side of the road.
Subway Line 5: get off at Yonghegong Station, and get out of the station from Exit C (Southeast Exit).
|Bus Route:||Take bus 13, 116, 117 or 684 and get off at Yonghegong Station.
Take bus Te 2, Te 12, 909, 116, 684, 62, 13, 44, 18, 75, and get off at Yonghegong Qiao Dong Station.
Take bus 117, 125, and get off at Yonghegong Qiao Bei Station.
Recommended Tour: 1 Day Beijing Lama Temple & Old Hutong Tour